Skip to content

Local general election candidate list is now complete

By Jeff Neagle


The deadline for candidates to file for non-partisan offices without a primary for the November 2020 General Election has now passed. To run in November, candidates were required to file by June 2, 2020 at 4:00 p.m. The original deadline had been in August.

In Adair County, there are three races that meet that criteria: city council, school board, and soil and water conservation.

For city council, the candidates who filed by the deadline are: Ben Burris, Craig Dean, Robert Flowers, Mark Harris, Sharon Payne, Ronald “Butch” Rogers, and Linda Waggener.

Five of the six sitting council members filed for re-election. The only two not already on the council are Ben Burris and Robert Flowers.

Council member June Parson did not file to run again. When contacted concerning her decision, Parson gave the following statement. “We are contemplating relocating closer to family. The time frame will depend upon the health of family members. I am an only daughter with an aging mother and need to be available to help with her needs. I love Columbia and have been honored to serve on the Council and thank the citizens for giving me that opportunity.”

In the school board race, there are three districts with seats up for grabs this year. Each district had only one candidate file. For District 2 has Dana King running for the seat. In District 4, David Karnes was the only candidate to file. For District 5, only Troy Grider filed for the seat. Grider is currently serving on the board.

Soil and Water Conservation has four candidates running. Brent Baker, James E. Bennett, Larry K. Burton, and Mike McMinoway are all on the ballot for November.

On Thursday, July 16 at 2:00 p.m., there will be a public drawing for ballot position held at the office of Adair County Clerk Lisa Greer at the Annex Building on the square. The meeting is open to the public.

Leave a Comment