July 12 in Adair County History

2007: A longtime Columbia landmark was badly damaged by a Monday evening fire on July 9.

Circle R Restaurant, located on Russell Road and owned at the time by David and Ingrid Hawkins, suffered extensive structural damage to its interior when the fire broke out just after 6 p.m. The restaurant was closed when the blaze erupted. Firefighters attributed the cause of the fire to a varnish remover – being used for a renovation – coming into contact with a pilot light on one of the kitchen’s grills.

1995: An estimated 4,500 people packed the Adair County Fairgrounds to kick off the Adair County Jaycees’ Fair’s nine-day run. The highlight of the opening night featured a concert by country music star Tracy Byrd, whose recent chart dominance included the singles “Watermelon Crawl” and “Lifestyles of the Not So Rich and Famous.”

1989: The Adair County School Board voted 4-1 to raise breakfast and lunch prices for the 1989-1990 school year, a move made in response to rising food costs and employee wages.

Elementary school lunches were bumped up from 80 to 90 cents, high school lunches increased from 85 cents to $1, and adult lunches jumped from $1.20 to $1.50. Breakfast prices for students and adults were raised by a nickel and dime, respectively.

Board members Mike Stephens, Wallace Richard, Buddy Sewell, and Travis Bryant voted in favor of the measure, with James Howard Sexton opposing the motion.

1970: Asst. Secretary of Commerce for Economic Development Robert A. Podesta announced that a 10-county area of Kentucky, including Adair, was eligible for federal assistance in planning and carrying out programs for economic growth.

The counties became eligible upon designation as a development district by the Economic Development Administration, an agency established in the U.S. Dept. of Commerce to promote industrial and commercial growth in economically lagging areas of the country.

The newly formed Lake Cumberland Area Economic Development District included Adair, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Green, McCreary, Pulaski, Russell, Taylor, and Wayne County.